



Facts about our Constitution



The Constitution was signed into law by former President Nelson Mandela on 10 December 1996 in Sharpeville.



Over two million people participated in the making of the South African Constitution.



The Constitution is the supreme law of our country - that is why it is essential that you familiarise yourself with its contents.



The Preamble of the Constitution is the responsibility every South African citizen takes on. It is our agreement with the State and with our fellow citizens.



Anything - law or conduct - that is inconsistent with our Constitution is considered and declared invalid. That is one of the differences between democratic South Africa and the "old order".



Our Constitution contains 14 chapters and seven schedules, each tackling one specific topic.



The Constitution contains the Bill of Rights in Chapter 2, this outlines all our rights and responsibilities as South African citizens.



Chapter 9 of our Constitution details the seven institutions supporting Constitutional Democracy. They are the Public Protector; South African Human Rights Commission; Commission for the Promotion and Protection of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities; Commission for Gender Equality; the Auditor-General; the Independent Electoral Commission; and the Independent Broadcasting Authority.



The Constitution is referred to as a "living document" - this is because as the country changes and developments occur, the Constitution must be able to adapt.



The Constitutional Court of South Africa is the highest court in the land. It was established in 1994 and is the key institution in our constitutional democracy.

Our current Chief Justice is Mogoeng Mogoeng.



The Department of Justice and Constitutional Development has made the Constitution available in all the official languages, as well as in Braille.

Source: LeadSA